Return Home
It is currently Thu Jul 18, 2024 5:09 am

All times are UTC-06:00

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 2:29 pm 

Hi, I'd like to give some background on my meditation practice before asking my question:
I've been meditating with and without binaural beats for some 10 years now.
Often, when I meditate, I find myself suddenly "in" another reality. I may be talking to someone, or I may be witnessing some impossible-to-explain being with a voice that sounds like extremely autotuned singing, or I may be a mother protecting her child during a war, etc. etc.

By the time I realize that this has happened, I've generally returned to PMR.

My interpretation of these events is that I'm in such deep meditation that I'm seeing vivid hypnagogic imagery. This same thing happens to me when I'm sleeping -- vivid hypnagogic scenes that are sometimes so vivid as to scare me and prevent me from falling asleep. Interestingly, I'm a software developer and sometimes see computer code of what my brain is doing while I'm falling asleep. On a couple occasions, I've seen it repeatedly fail when it gets to the "sleep" function. On these two nights, I had insomnia!

Now, with the proper background, my question:
During meditation, I often find myself "seeing" the room around me as if my eyes are open. BUT, it is NOT the room around me as it would actually appear if I opened my eyes. Sometimes the angle is different and sometimes the surroundings are different. For example, sometimes I am looking at a computer, which feels like it's on my lap. But in PMR, my computer is off to the side and I am lying in bed. Today, I was lying down, but looking out over my sheets, which were a different color and texture than the sheets I was actually covered by.